Fame Monster

Today Vanity Fair’s blog posted some snippets from a recent profile on Lady GaGa. Among other things (see just about any other post on this blog), I am obsessed with fame. I love everything about it: famous people, being famous, being around famous people, etc. Andy Warhol’s obsession with fame is my primary inspiration for my own obsession. Sometimes when Lady GaGa says these things I am reminded of him. Enjoy.

• “A year from now, I could go away, and people might say, ‘Gosh, what ever happened to that girl who never wore pants?’ But how wonderfully memorable 30 years from now, when they say, ‘Do you remember Gaga and her bubbles?’ Because, for a minute, everybody in that room will forget every sad, painful thing in their lives, and they’ll just live in my bubble world.”

• “I don’t like Los Angeles. The people are awful and terribly shallow, and everybody wants to be famous but nobody wants to play the game. I’m from New York. I will kill to get what I need.”

• “I feel that if I can show my demise artistically to the public, I can somehow cure my own legend.”

• “What I’ve discovered is that in art, as in music, there’s a lot of truth-and then there’s a lie. The artist is essentially creating his work to make this lie a truth, but he slides it in amongst all the others. The tiny little lie is the moment I live for, my moment. It’s the moment that the audience falls in love.”

• “Pop stars should not eat.”

• “I don’t know if this is too much for your magazine, but I can actually mentally give myself an orgasm.”

• “She’s sleeping.” [“She” referring to Gaga’s hair-bow.]

From VF Daily.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fame Monster

  1. Alice

    I am posting a comment!

    Other famous people who remind me of Andy Warhol: Karl Lagerfeld.

    I was just reading that piece in New York, and it said that she actively studied Andy’s diaries, pen in hand.

Leave a Reply

