McNally Jackson, Addiction, Narcissism

Today I went to check out the new McNally Jackson cafe in person with my fabulous friend Alice. The cafe was super cute, the coffee was amazing, and I got two books. I should admit at this point that I have a serious, serious book problem. Books are like crack to me. No matter how many I have or how many books I am currently reading, I always needs more. One of my New Year’s Resolutions for 2010 was to stop buying books until I had read all the books I have. I lasted about two months and then started buying more books. I ran out of shelf space a long time ago. There are always books in my bed, stacked on my bedside table, piled on my desk, on the floor of my living room, etc. It’s a serious problem.

In any case, I felt obligated to get one of these books today because it appears to tap into a recurring theme in my life. Him Her Him Again The End of Him by Patricia Marx is supposedly about this girl who is obsessed with this guy and according to the back cover “By ‘obsessed,’ we mean, well … sex and lusting and longing and hoping and waiting for this cad who is spread too thin.” I’ve only read the first 35 pages and already Marx’s prose is getting a little grating, but I love this quotation:

“You know what I think it really was? He was a narcissist. I love narcissists – even more than they love themselves. You don’t have to buoy them up. They are their own razzle-dazzle show and you are the blessed, favored with a front-row seat.” (31)

How do you not love that? I mean the quote, not the narcissist. Actually scratch that, I mean the narcissist too.

1 Comment

Filed under Books, New York

One response to “McNally Jackson, Addiction, Narcissism

  1. Pingback: Weather-Appropriate Logic « Passively Astonished

Leave a Reply

