Stuffed Artichoke Fantasy

It occurs to me that I have not yet posted about food today, which seems rather blasphemous. So now I shall write about my longing for stuffed artichokes.

When I was a child, this was one of my favorite dinners. This might have been partially because it didn’t involve making a mess on the stove and therefore that I didn’t have to clean the stove after dinner, but that is an irrelevant detail. I also liked stuffed artichokes because they were extremely tasty and you could stuff them in your mouth with your hands (I am going to propose a theory that almost all truly delicious foods elicit a desire to be eaten with one’s hands). I loved peeling off the leaves one by one, sucking the stuffing off them, and depositing them in the brown paper lunch bags my mother provided. Yum.

Artichokes are back in season now and I keep seeing gorgeous ones at the grocery down the street from me. Today seems like a perfect day for them too; it’s chilly and damp and I’m longing for a dinner that comes out of an oven. I’m also apparently much more eager to spend my evening cooking food and eating it than going to the gym, which happens a lot. I’ve been looking up recipes in case I decide that rain means that I cannot, in fact, go to the gym (in my building) and need to spend the night puttering about my kitchen instead. See the Saveur recipe, Martha Stewart’s recipe, and the New York Times recipe.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

