Thoughts (not my own) On Lying

I was reviewing my post on Lady GaGa from the other day and it occurs to me that I have accumulated some fantastic quotations about lying over there years. Here are some of my favorites:

“People need good lies. There are too many bad ones.” – Kurt Vonnegut

“The idea is that when many lies are told, unfettered by immediate comparison to fact, they end up comprising a kind of truth. On that truth too lies can be based.” – Jesse Ball, on the structure of a verisylum (an asylum for chronic liars), in the novel Samedi the Deafness

“Lying is the most fun a girl can have without taking her clothes off. But it’s better if you do.” – as made famous by Alice Ayres/Jane Jones, as played by Natalie Portman in the movie Closer, based on Patrick Marber’s play Closer

Your own father said that artists use lies to tell the truth. Yes, I created a lie. But because you believed it, you found something true about yourself.” – V, from V for Vendetta

“What I’ve discovered is that in art, as in music, there’s a lot of truth-and then there’s a lie. The artist is essentially creating his work to make this lie a truth, but he slides it in amongst all the others. The tiny little lie is the moment I live for, my moment. It’s the moment that the audience falls in love.” – Lady GaGa

These are just off the top of my head. I’m missing some important people who probably have something profound to say about lying: Andy Warhol, Woody Allen, Winston Churchill, William Shakespeare. Leave your favorite quotation about lying in the comments.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Thoughts (not my own) On Lying

  1. “I like lying in bed on rainy days” -me

Leave a Reply

