The Prep Life

I’m sure many of you have heard about the upcoming book True Prep, co-authored by Lisa Birnbach and Chip Kidd. It’s coming out in September and I can’t wait. Lisa Birnbach was also an author of the original Preppy Handbook. I’m not an overly preppy person myself, but I do like to keep an eye on the development of privileged, prep culture.

{True Prep available for pre-order from Amazon; used copies of The Preppy Handbook also available on Amazon}

Thinking about these preppy books reminds me of a book that my dear friend Dani told me about years ago. Take Ivy by Shosuke Ishizu, Toshiyuki Kurosu, and Hajime Hasegawa with photography by Teruyoshi Hayashida. The book was originally published in Japan in 1965 as a critical part of the “Ivy Style” craze. I  have never actually seen this book in person, but I think I might have to order it right now. After all, it does have my dear alma mater on the cover.

{from Amazon}

Leave a comment

Filed under Style

Leave a Reply

