Childhood Foods, Part 1: PB&J

This is the first of what will hopefully become a series of posts. Since leaving college and living in New York and buying all my own food, I have come to gain a new appreciation for certain childhood foods. They appeal to me because they are simple, require only a few ingredients, and are delicious. However, because I am now 23 and not 7, I have also been looking for little updates to these childhood classics. I’m starting here with PB & J this week but send me an email with any ideas for other childhood faves! I’ve been deviating from the standard peanut butter and jelly in small ways: using pita bread, substituting cashew butter for peanut butter, etc. Below are some more adventurous ideas from around the internet for making over good old PB&J

1. Cashew Strawberry Crunch from Martha Stewart. This looks so delicious and refreshing! Much lighter than the original PB & J. It’s cashew butter on Ryvita Fruit Crunch, topped with fresh strawberries and drizzle of honey. Yum.

2. There are several recipes for peanut butter and jelly cupcakes around. The delicious cupcake pictured above was baked at Tee & Cakes in Boulder, CO and was featured in a post on the lovely cupcake blog Cupcakes Take The Cake. If you want to try making your own PB&J cupcakes, check out the recipes at Serious Eats, Food Network, and CD Kitchen.

3. This Raspberry Jam and Almond Crumble Tart takes the idea of PB&J to a whole new level. It originally appeared in the December 2000 issue of Gourmet and can now be found on Epicurious. It looks delicious and super sophisticated, but for me the appeal is definitely the reference (intentional or not) to the classic sandwich.

Do you have a favorite take on peanut butter and jelly? Leave it in the comments!

6 Comments

Filed under Food

6 responses to “Childhood Foods, Part 1: PB&J

  1. Alyx

    Yum!!! Both those things look so good! I want to try the bread.

  2. Rich

    This sounds like a quick fire challenge for Top Chef.

    If I were Marcel I would definitely include foam in my re-interpretation of PB&J. If I were Jamie, it would include seared scallops. And if I were Fabio, I would speak with a lovable, thick Italian accent.

    If these references were (gesturing over head), I apologize. I’m addicted to Top Chef and Padma Lakshmi

  3. Pingback: Two Bits of News « Passively Astonished

Leave a Reply

