Things I’m Loving: Canvas Tote Bags

For whatever reason, the warm weather is making me extremely lustful for canvas tote bags (ever notice how much I use the word “lust” on this blog? too much?). Normally I cart around my giant purple leather sack or my trusty black Jack Spade messenger to and from work, but recently I have ditched both in favor of my ancient orange-strapped L. L. Bean Boat & Tote. The warmth and sunshine make me feel more casual, like my belongings can be chic-carelessly thrown into a bag without worrying about snow or rain or freezing temperatures. I picture myself spontaneously stopping by outdoor markets and lazily collecting apples and cheeses and flowers in my spacious tote bag. In this weather, armed with my tote, I am ready for whatever Manhattan adventures lie before me.

So you can imagine the delight with which I beheld this amazing Penfield Squall tote bag on Selectism this morning (Selectism is so awful because I want about 75% of the things they post, even though it’s mostly for men). I love the navy canvas and the leather details. I want to wear it with a crisp white shirt, loose khaki shorts, and navy Toms shoes. Top it off with a panama hat and I’m ready to load that bag with as many books and as much wine, cheese, fruit, and bread as possible and head to Central Park. Or the beach. Or St Tropez. Or Monaco. See? The possibilities are really endless…

{from Selectism, available on Flatspot}

Leave a comment

Filed under Style

Leave a Reply

