Travel Notes and Weekend Cooking

Dear readers, I am going home this weekend for my mother’s birthday. Among other things, I intend to spend a lot of time in the kitchen whipping up things. As far as first-New-York-apartment kitchens go, I think I am actually pretty lucky. My roommate and I are the first ones to live in our apartment and the kitchen has brand-new, perfectly functioning, stainless steel appliances. There’s no temperamental stove or cranky oven that bakes things unevenly. However, I cannot wait to have free run of the large, sunny kitchen at my house in North Carolina. I make no promises about what I will actually cook this weekend (although I do promise to blog about it next week), but here are some of the candidates for my culinary:

1. Strawberry “Pop Tarts” from Bon Appetit April 2010, hopefully made with homemade strawberry preserves.

2. Asparagus and Mushroom Tarts from Bon Appetit April 2009. To be fair, I’ve made these before,  but I want to show off to my parents. In reality, these are extremely easy to make, but they look pretty and taste amazing, thereby making the cook seem far more accomplished than he or she actually is.

3. Bleu Cheese Scallion Drop Biscuits from Smitten Kitchen. Okay to be perfectly honest I find myself wanting to try nearly every recipe on Smitten Kitchen, but these look perfect for a Southern brunch. Hopefully I can find some fresh scallions at the Durham Farmers’ Market.

4. Peanut Butter and Jelly Bread from Jim Lahey’s cookbook. I have had the hardest time finding a picture of this bread, but the recipe is available on Deanna’s Corner Cooking blog. Ever since the lovely Courtney of Girl Loves Honey brought this to my attention I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it. Perhaps by the end of my weekend I will have my own picture!

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Travel Notes and Weekend Cooking

  1. I’ve had my eye on those Bon Appetit strawberry poptarts for a long time. I’ve also been wanting to recreate Twix bars, they’ve been going around the blog bakesphere.

Leave a Reply

