PB&J Bread

Finally, here is the PB&J bread I talk about endlessly. There’s my loaf, pictured above, about to go in the oven. This bread also turned out great, which leads me to believe that Jim Lahey is a demigod. However, making this bread was a little bit more of an adventure than my first loaf. The recipe is still pretty basic in terms of ingredients, with flour, yeast, water, salt, egg, and peanut butter going into the dough. You have to wait around for another 12 hours or so until the dough gets big and gassy. Then you smush it out into a big rectangular sheet, spread jam or jelly all over it, roll it up, and pop it in a loaf pan for a quick second fermentation before you bake it. This was all very straightforward except for the part where I had to pop it in the loaf pan. I’m not sure if my dough wasn’t the right consistency or if I missed some crucial dough-handling chapter, but after I rolled up the jam in the dough, my bread-to-be looked like a giant, fat slug. I mean a HUGE slug that was extremely movement-averse. This is extra stressful because now you have all this fruit stuff inside the slug, so if you manhandle the slug into the loaf pan, it will just burst and create a big mess. I finally negotiated my slug onto a baking sheet, shoved all his lovehandles into the upside-down loaf pan, and flipped the whole contraption over. That’s why my dough is all wrinkly and ugly instead of smooth and perfect like Jim’s in his book. All this aside, the bread was still delicious. More pictures after the jump.

The original dough


Terrible picture of the strawberry and blackberry preserves I made

The finished product. I failed to take a picture of the inside, which is a shame because the jam makes a pretty spiral pattern. I’m sure I’ll make it again soon and I promise to take pictures of the next one.

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “PB&J Bread

  1. Is there a recipe somewhere for this?

Leave a Reply

