Things I want to cook this weekend

This is more like Alyx’s to-do list for the weekend, but I thought I’d share it with everyone anyway.

1. Pasta Carbonara. After reading about the virtues of carbonara in last month’s Saveur (which I now can’t find online…), I have had an unstoppable craving for the stuff. Time to bite the bullet and just make it for dinner tonight. I like the addition of leeks in Bon Appetit’s April 2008 recipe (pictured left) and the whole poached egg in Gourmet’s October 2009 recipe (pictured right). I’m already thinking about rushing home after work today to make some and it’s not even 2 pm yet….

2. As I mentioned the other day, my good friend Alice is coming over on Sunday to bake bread with me. We’re going to be making a plain loaf and some focaccia, which I have never tried to make before. Focaccia is one of my favorite kinds of bread. I love bathing it in olive oil and rosemary and stuffing it in my mouth. I have complete faith in Mr. Lahey at this point, so I am very excited about trying out his focaccia recipe.

3. I have been thinking about this breakfast pizza ever since Smitten Kitchen posted about it last month. Maybe I just have bread, egg, and bacon on the mind (see items 1 and 2 in this list), but it looks amazing. With all the bread baking going on this weekend I don’t know if I’ll get around to this one, but I hope to soon. {image and recipe from Smitten Kitchen}

I could go on at this point. I am drooling over Alton Brown’s chewy cookies on Lovin’ From the Oven. And I’ve been wanting to try Gourmet’s Caramel Pecan Cakes as cupcakes with cinnamon icing and a drizzle of caramel. And I could go home and look through all the flagged recipes in my stacks of food magazines. But I probably won’t even make it through the first three things on my list. This is the problem with accumulating foods I want to eat faster than I can eat them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

